Yesterday NZPFU members were emailed the links to the income protection insurance zoom meetings being held at 1300 and 1900 hours starting today and being held every day until and including Friday.  The links were emailed through the NZPFU electronic newsletter from the email address.

  • Locals are requested to ensure the zoom meeting times and links are available in all members’ workplaces to have the opportunity to hear from Protect the benefits of the group scheme and ask any questions.
  • All NZPFU members are entitled to join the scheme – there are no pre-requisites other than a 75-year age limit.

NZPFU members covered by the collective employment agreement will be able to seek reimbursement of the premiums through the annual reimbursement allowance in July every year.

Hundreds of NZPFU members have already signed up and they will receive confirmation and an electronic welcome pack from Protect from next week onwards.

Anyone joining in July will be covered from 1 July 2023.

The NZPFU scheme has been designed to bridge the gap where ACC/FENZ do not pay wages for injury/illness.  All illnesses are covered.   This was one of the key achievements in the 2022 collective bargaining negotiations as the cost of the premiums amounts to $2600 annually which corresponds to the $2600 reimbursement allowance.  All information about the policy and benefits can be accessed here.

It’s a no-brainer - make sure you attend one of the zoom meetings and sign up here.

In unity,
Wattie Watson
National Secretary

Related Articles


Annual General Meeting

Members are advised that pursuant to Union Rule B.15.11, notice is given for the Auckland Local Annual General Meeting to be held on Friday 23 August 2024.


Due to the recent resignation of the Taupo Local Secretary, nominations are hereby called for this position in accordance with the Rules of the New Zealand Professional Firefighters Union.

Election of Northcom Representative - Auckland Local Committee

By the closing date for nominations for the position of Northcom Representative – Auckland Local Committee, the following nomination has been received.